Sending clock to Rainmaker via Electribe 2

Hi,

I’m in the planning stage of my system and since it’s not always easy to clock everything correctly and have it all working, I thought I ask in advance. Also, I’m a total noob, when it comes to eurorack.

Ok, so here’s the thing: I’m going to clock my Electribe via Ableton (as master clk) through usb, which should work perfectly. From there the Electribe has an output pulse of 15ms at 5V in 8th note intervals, as written in the manual.

1.) Which cable should I use? In the Electribe manual it looks like two balanced 3.5 jacks. (There are people clocking eurorack modules through Electribe already, so it should work)

2.) Is the 8th pulse enough to clock the rainmaker correctly? I’m also considering a midi to cv interface from 2hp, but I could certainly use that space for a better MMF Filter.

Thanks in advance for any help.

It’s a bit odd how they’ve documented it in the manual. If it’s outputting at 15ms, wouldn’t that always be the same tempo? Anyways, if it’s sending 1/8th note pulses that should work fine. Most euroclocks sync to 1/16th notes, so this one might feel a bit slower, but at least it will be in time.

1. Standard eurorack cables are unbalanced TS 3.5mm (1/8th") cables, but balanced ones will work fine.

2. Yes. Just connect the Electribe clock out to the Delay CLK input and you should be good to go. You’ll want to pay attention to your clock division and TAP# settings in Rainmaker to determine the timing of your delays. If you’re using the Comb section and want it to sync too, you can set it to clock to the Delay section.

Thank you Scott! Great news. Another two short unrelated questions, if you don’t mind: