Intellijel 7U Performance Case HISS

Hello,

I recently purchased the 7U Case 104HP and I seem to be getting a lot of hiss - I was wondering if this is a power issue or a cable issue? I’m using dual 1/4" TS Jack to 1/4" TRS Jack Insert Cable and plugging them straight into my audio interface focusrite 18i8 - Its strange because I only have the Morphagene plugged into the case and the Intellijel 1U Stereo Out.

Hope you guys can help!

https://www.juno.co.uk/products/hosa-technology-hosa-stp202-dual-1-4/558470-01/

Why are you using an insert cable rather than a pair of TRS cables? I suspect that might be part of the problem.

What is an insert cable?

I’m new to all of this so pardon me if i’m a little slow. I definitely bought these by mistake. I will get a pair of TRS cables tomorrow morning and see if this works better. Anyways, I’m hoping its a cable issue and not a power issue. Will update you on the progress.

Would Balanced Jack (TRS) cables do the job?:

https://www.juno.co.uk/products/hosa-technology-hosa-hss005-pro-balanced-jack/370623-01/

Thanks,
Adam

TRS to dual TS cables can be used as stereo to dual mono splitters or insert cables depending on the context. The 1/4" jacks on the case are each meant to be a balanced mono TRS output when used with the Stereo Line Out 1U module. So you should ideally connect a TRS cable from each output to two inputs on your Scarlett.

1 Like

Thank you Scott.

Hearing this makes a lot more sense. I’ll get the pair of TRS cables and let you know what’s up.

Your help is greatly appreciated!!!

1 Like

No worries Adam! You can also always e-mail support@intellijel.com for tech support stuff.

1 Like

Hey Scott,

So I followed your instruction and bought the pair of balanced mono TRS cables (see link below) and I’m still getting the same hiss. I even used a different audio interface but the problem isn’t disappearing.

Could it be the power in the case or could it be a faulty module?