Headphones vs Stereo Line Out

Hi all,

As I will only be using one of these at a time I was wondering if there are any drawbacks to using the headphones out as my line out to the audio interface. Is there any quality difference? As I have very little experience in this area I’d also love to know how set people are on using proper balanced outs.

I would like to know also!

I use both actively without fully understanding the science. This is how I go about not worrying about which :wink:

Different signal levels means you’ll be gainstaging differently through your modules and outboard gear, so I personally find it difficult to rank quality, or even notice discernable differences (Bal vs unbal) while jamming with speakers or headphones.

You can imagine the hotter signal might have a better noise ratio and come through more accurately, but if the modular system is producing its own noise, and they tend to, some people are convinced Balanced enhances or brings up that noise along with everything else (or new noises become apparent).

Both modes are valid and backed by longevity not to mention the modules are implemented with studio quality circuits - my experience is with the 1u headphones and 1u stereo line out. In the studio I run the balanced Stereo Line Out thru the case jacks and to an audio interface or mixer. The headphones I wear also plug into same. the headphones 1u signal is then available as a DJ Cue or to send line level into an outboard scope, (stereo TRS split to 2 RCA into BNC).

If you are quite interested in stuff beyond what the ear can tell you, you might record them into a DAW and use spectrum or similar analysers.