Confusing behaviour - edit mode Steppy 1U

Hi all. This is likely going to be one of those “D’oh” moments for me once I get the answer, but I can’t seem to get this to work. I am a Steppy noob, btw.

An example of what I’m struggling with. Say, I want to add a ratchet to my step-sequence.

As I understand it, if I want to go from “Select” mode when I am running a sequence, I stop the sequence from running, and press and hold “Edit”. This is supposed to result in the red “Edit” light flashing, at which point I can choose which step I would like to ratchet.

The issue that I have is that while the “edit” light does indeed flash, so do the “Gate”, CLK", Delay “, and Prob”. Pressing any buttons (Other than the above mentioned ones) does not have any effect, until I again press the “edit” button. At this point the Steppy goes back to the sequence mode. Am I missing something? I’ve tried going through the ones that flash to see if anything makes sense for getting ratcheting going but no joy so far. Any suggestions gratefully received,

Cheers,
Spry

Hey @sprydle ,
I just tried to find a youtube video to show you how it works, and the first one that I found looks to be for an older version of the firmware where things work differently. I wonder if you watched that and it’s causing the confusion.

I suggest you read the latest version of the manual carefully, found towards the bottom of: Steppy 1U - intellijel

I’ll try to summarize it for you. There are several “layers” you need to navigate through and it is a bit confusing and takes some practice. Oh and first of all, you don’t need to stop the sequence to edit ratchets or other per-step parameters.

1. First use the select button to chose the track and page you want to edit. Then exit select mode.