Audio I/O 1U to Audio Interface help

Newbie here.

Have a 7u 104hp case with an Audio I/O 1U.
Thinking about buying a Focusrite clarett-2pre-usb sometime in the future.

How do you connect 2 L/R balanced jacks into an Audio interface? Do I use up both inputs on the Clarett?
Is there a Y cable you can buy to combine into 1 output?

Would this work?

Can you use TS Mono cables? Thought the Case I/O is Balanced and has to use TRS cables.

The whole Balanced/unbalanced Mono/stereo thing is pretty confusing.

I think this video walks you through all the connections: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MSFW4xBCcY

Good interface choice! To answer your questions:
Yes, for stereo you would need 2 channels. Out L to In 1, Out R to In 2. Balanced 1/4" TRS is ideal to eliminate noise.You could use a Y-Cable like you described, but then you would be recording in mono, not stereo, and might experience more noise.

So Audio interfaces only record mono then per jack?

For example, I also have the Headphone 1U. Thats 2 mono into a headphone TRS jack. if I plug that into the Audio interface it will still only record mono? Even though through headphones its stereo?

Correct.

Unless the interface specifies that it has a stereo input, it will be mono.

If you connect the Headphones 1U with a TRS cable to one input of your interface it will be mono. You could use the Y-Cable to connect the Headphones 1U to both inputs of your interface to record in stereo.

thank you.

Makes sense now.

1 Like

One more question.

I’m getting a Kilpatrick redox reverb. It’s a desktop device. The device uses unbalanced 1/4 inputs. I’m using them as a stereo send and return to my WMD performance mixer in my rack. Do I still go with balanced cables?